Golden Spike Award

Each year, representatives of the national research community using the high-performance computing resources of HLRS meet in Stuttgart-Vaihingen for the annual HLRS Results and Review Workshop. During the two day event, participants present and discuss their research projects from the past 12 months. Of all projects presented at the HLRS Results and Review Workshop, the steering committee of HLRS chooses three particularly excellent ones to honor them with a special trophy: The HLRS Golden Spike Award.

Click here for a list of all recipients of the Golden Spike Award.

Decision criteria for the Golden Spike Awards include:

  • Scientific relevance (top in their research field)
  • Imperative of high-performance computing for their research
  • Optimal usage of HPC equipment in terms of optimization, parallelization, and overall performance
  • Presentation format of the results at the Results and Review Workshop.

2019 Awards

On October 8, 2019, Prof. Dr. Dietmar Kröner of the University of Freiburg, vice-chairman of the HLRS steering committee, announced the following three research projects as winners of the 22nd Annual Golden Spike Awards:

Simulation of particulate flows
Konstantin Fröhlich (Institute of Aerodynamics, RWTH Aachen)

Uncertainty quantification in high performance computational fluid dynamics
Thomas Kuhn (Institute of Aerodynamics and Gas Dynamics, University of Stuttgart)

The TNG50 simulation: highly-resolved galaxies in a large cosmological volume to the present day
Annalisa Pillepich (Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg) and Dylan Nelson (Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Garching)

Winners of the 2019 HLRS Golden Spike Award: Thomas Kuhn, Konstantin Fröhlich, and Annalisa Pillepich.
Winners of the 2019 HLRS Golden Spike Award