You are in the main area:User Projects
Headerimage for: Golden Spike Award

Golden Spike Award

For the 16th time in the history of HLRS, the national research community using the HPC computing resources of HLRS met in Stuttgart-Vaihingen for the annual „HLRS Results and Review Workshop“. During the two day event, the participants were given the opportunity to present and discuss the research projects they had been working on over the last 12 months. Of all projects presented at the HLRS Results and Review Workshop, the steering committee of HLRS chose three particularly excellent ones to honor them with a special trophy: The HLRS Golden Spike Award. 

At this year’s event, a total of 26 talks plus 23 poster presentations had made it on the agenda of the review workshop hoping to be considered for the annual Golden Spike Award. Decision criteria for the selection of the three outstanding research projects include:

        o   Scientific relevance (top in their research field)

        o   Imperative of high performance computing for their research

        o   Optimal usage of HPC equipment in terms of optimization, parallelization and overall performance

        o   Presentation format of the results at the Review Workshop

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Heinrich Kröner of University of Freiburg, Co-Chairman of the HLRS steering committee, announced the following three research projects as winners of the 2013 Golden Spike Awards:

o   Industrial Turbulence Simulations at Large Scale
     Dipl.-Ing. Daniel Friedrich Harlacher
     (Lehrstuhl für Simulationstechnik und Wissenschaftliches Rechnen, Universität Siegen) 

o   High-Resolution Climate Predictions and Short-Range Forecasts to Improve the Process Understanding and the Representation of Land-Surface Interactions in the WRF Model in Southwest Germany (WRFCLIM)
     Dr. Kirsten Warrach-Sagi
     (Institut für Physik und Meteorologie, Universität Hohenheim) 

o   A Highly Scalable Multigrid Method with Parallel Direct Coarse Grid Solver for Maxwell's Equations
     Dr. Daniel Maurer
     (Institut für Angewandte und Numerische Mathematik 3, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie/KIT)

The awardees of the 2013 Golden Spike Award (from left): Dipl.-Ing. Daniel Harlacher of Universität Siegen (left), Dr. Kirsten Warrach-Sagi of Universität Hohenheim (middle), and Dr. Daniel Maurer of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (right).

The Golden Spike Award winners will publish a detailed project report in the upcoming InSiDE magazine to be issued in Spring 2014. 

All of the HLRS Review Workshop participants will have their scientific projects published in the conference proceedings which will be published in late 2013:

High Performance Computing in Science and Engineering '13,
Transactions of the High Performance Computing Center, Stuttgart (HLRS) 2013,
Wolfgang. E. Nagel, Dietmar H. Kröner, Michael M. Resch (Editors),
Springer Cham Heidelberg New York Dordrecht London,
© Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2014
ISBN 978-3-319-02164-5
ISBN 978-3-319-02165-2 (eBook)
DOI 10.1007/978-3-319-02165-2


For a complete list of all Golden Spike Award Recipients, please click here